Well another week completed, and a really nice way to complete it with the Cookstown Half Marathon, an event which was part of the World Police and Fire Games. The course was very hilly and again another day of sunshine for a half marathon made it a difficult day for running. The event was very well organised and I must say the people of Cookstown should be very proud, especially as they came out to support throughout the race.

It was great to see so many runners from different countries coming to run a race in Northern Ireland, and even better to finish ahead of a few of them!

However, a time of 1hr34 minutes and I have to admit I felt like I was getting back to my best again (I will update on place etc upon the results going live). I think there are a number of factors for this: one, I am now four weeks in to Dublin marathon training so my fitness levels are getting back to the levels they were at earlier in the year; two, really good day yesterday with a short 4 mile run and a great meal of breads and pasta with bit of cheeky cheesecake; and three, back to electrolytes before a run, which I know dont take minutes of the miles, however I still felt freshness in the legs at 10 miles today and it has been a wile since I felt that!

This week’s 41 miles have gone well, especially as I managed to get the long runs out of the way in the middle of week. Next weeks miles take another step up, with 48 miles as part of the training plan, with two 7 mile and one 9 mile run midweek with a 16 at the weekend. It is going to be a busy week in work and Ali’s half marathon training also take a step up, so a lot of balancing required this week.

Half marathon series is next at Groomsport, number 9 in the series in two weeks time, so it will be interesting to see how the fitness levels improve between now and then, and also times!

