Over the last few days I have started thinking about expanding my original blog and, well, I guess this is me grabbing the metaphorical bull by the horns.  I’m not going to go in to what I am going to write about as I am sure that could change everyday, structure isn’t sometimes my strong point,

Over the last two years I decided to push the envelop a bit more, some may argue I had been pushing it already through marathons, half marathons and the odd long sportive.  I completed my first sprint triathlon the summer of 2014 and feel in love with it almost immediately.  I completed an olympic triathlon the same year and in 2015 completed two more olympic distances triathlons.  For those who do not know, olympic triathlon distance is 1,500m swim, 40km cycle and 10km run.

After thinking about it quite a bit, and getting the agreement of a supportive wife, I decided to enter the Ironman 70.3 Dublin, taking place in August.  This would be the hardest thing I will ever undertake with a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile cycle and 13.2 mile run.

Training started to ernest, realistically I started training in January with the thought that I may try and do the Ironman 70.3 and it isn’t the type of event that you can rattle through a quick 4 week training plan for, it involves long swims, runs and cycles during the week.  Over the next 20 odd weeks I would have to train for, on average, 10 hours a week across the three disciplines, with early morning sessions.

